PDA

View Full Version : Fx37 purchase, maybe

Darrin
05-14-2014, 07:54 PM
Hey guys this is my first post so be gentle. I'm pretty new to this detailing stuff but I'm really enjoying it. Anyway the wife and I are looking at buying a 2013 black obsidian fx37. It is a corporate lease turn in and was taken care of like it. The paint is swirled like crazy and the hood has some massively bad paint chip/scratch repair done to it. Either the dealer or the old lessor just globbed huge amounts of touch up into the wounds. Is this still suitable to be reworked or does it need to be removed to start over.

Just02896
05-14-2014, 08:03 PM
Hey guys this is my first post so be gentle. I'm pretty new to this detailing stuff but I'm really enjoying it. Anyway the wife and I are looking at buying a 2013 black obsidian fx37. It is a corporate lease turn in and was taken care of like it. The paint is swirled like crazy and the hood has some massively bad paint chip/scratch repair done to it. Either the dealer or the old lessor just globbed huge amounts of touch up into the wounds. Is this still suitable to be reworked or does it need to be removed to start over.

If the paint in the touched up areas is higher than the factory paint you could tape off the area, wet sand level, and then compound and polish them out. This should help to minimize the appearance of the touch ups.

CarolinasFinestDetailing
05-14-2014, 08:54 PM
Find a good professional detailer who is willing to give you his opinion and a decent estimate. Then work that into your negotiations.

LRC3
05-15-2014, 04:47 PM
Great truck BUT I'd think twice about a black SUV. If your anal like me about your truck, black WILL DRIVE YOU NUTS.

If you don't have a garage (I have one) I'd give you 6 months before regret sets in. :nomore:LMAO

If it's parked outside seriously consider another color, you've been warned!

Just02896
05-15-2014, 08:57 PM