PDA

View Full Version : Any problems with my process?

Quick5Oh
07-23-2007, 12:47 PM
Hey guys,
Well I just placed my first order on auto geek. I got a pc7424 for real cheap from a buddy of mine and I purchased the xmt kit with ccs pads. My cars paint is pretty bad and needs to be taken care of. There are alot of little swirls but no real scratches or anything. So here is the process I plan to use, tell me what you think should be changed. This is my first time detailing.

Wash w/ DP
Clay
Wash
Polish via PC with XMT 3 followed up with XMT 1
Wash
Apply XMT Caranauba Finishing Glaze
Apply Poorboys EX Sealant

See any problems with this? I am unsure because this is my first detail, but I am definitly excited to get started! :D

Thank you,
Evan

makdaddy626
07-23-2007, 12:49 PM
I think you may have some problems with a Sealant bonding on top of the glaze due to the wax contained in the glaze.

Quick5Oh
07-23-2007, 12:53 PM
I had been looking at other threads and reading about that. That was more of the reason I posted this. How is sealant usually applied?

lgtspecb
07-23-2007, 03:18 PM
You want to seal before you wax. The polymers in the sealant cannot bind to the wax as it is really just a clear slick oil. Other than that the process looks good.

You really do not need to wash after you clay if you will be polishing, since your polish will remove any clay and soap residue. I recommend washing after polishing to remove dust and excess polish, but many go directly into sealing after polishing.

budman3
07-23-2007, 03:28 PM