PDA

View Full Version : Meg's NXT Tech Wax confusion

VF-x
07-23-2007, 01:24 AM
I admit I'm a noob, so I'm going to ask some pretty silly questions.

I'm pretty confused about this product. It's called a wax, but the product description on AG seems to indicate its a sealant. Is it or is it not a sealant?

I'm planning on polishing my car (Menzerna IP and Nano polish), and I'd like to protect the finish.

At the same time, I've been reading a lot of posts about its durability. I expect a sealant to last a long time, but posters seem to indicate the product wears away in a matter of weeks. What's is the true story on this product?

Thanks

klumzypinoy
07-23-2007, 01:35 AM
I have not used it, but here's what I know. NXT Tech Wax is a synthetic wax, also known as a sealant. It is man made, which is why it's synthetic. Durability, I have read that it doens't last that long. I haven't tried it for myself, so I can't say anything about how long it lasts. Hope this helps you :)

ScottB
07-23-2007, 06:06 AM
Megs NXT is a sythetic wax (a sealant) by design, you will see in marketing all types of products names used improperly to try and stand out on the shelves. NXT has widely been accepted as nice looking but no durability, and my testing mimics this. I have found the Professional version #21, has the same look, different smell, and slightly longer durability. You'll likely need to replace every 3 months in normal weather.

VF-x
07-23-2007, 11:03 AM
Thank you for the information.

I was wondering if it is recommended to put a layer of carnuba wax over the NXT, even through the NXT is supposed to look fantastic. I've got a choice of Meg's Gold Class or XMT 180 (thanks AG!).

Cheers

Bernard
07-23-2007, 11:15 AM
It's better to use XMT 180. Gold Class is not very durable. U might as well leave it as it is with Nxt if u wanna use GC.

Or u might wanna look into Collinite 476. It's a very durable carnauba wax. Cheers :)

Surfer
07-23-2007, 11:23 AM