PDA

View Full Version : Possibly Stupid Question - Orange Peel

Pages : [1] 2

kevin_1981
05-08-2014, 11:01 PM
I am very new to detailing/paint correction. If a car still has orange peel on factory paint, is it a safe assumption that the paint depth is fine for compounding (not at risk of cutting it down too much)? This seems like common sense that if there is orange peel, its probably still thick, but I'm unsure of if clearcoat would wear down, while maintaining the orange peel look.

Hope this makes sense.

refreshauto
05-08-2014, 11:44 PM
seeing orange peel on a car is not a measurement of paint. most cars have orange peel as the paint doesn't lay down flat most of the time. the only way to check if there is enough paint on your car for compounding to to get a paint gauge. you have to remember that most factory paint finishes are thinner than a post-it note, that is from Mike Phillips himself.

jamesboyy
05-08-2014, 11:48 PM
I think your asking can you remove the orange peel safely and the answers is most likely yes based on paint thickness readings
you could remove this blemish my sanding or using denim pads though a word of advice is just live with it that way you have enough skin(clear coat) throughout the life of the vehicle and then if you are gonna keep the vehicle after taking it off the road then you remove the orange peel....just my thoughts

Vortech5.0
05-08-2014, 11:58 PM
Risky on factory paint. I agree with above, just shine the heck out of it and don't worry about it too much.

kevin_1981
05-09-2014, 09:26 AM
Thank you everybody! Info is helpful. Im not looking to take down the orange peel, as it really doesnt bother me all that much. This was more a question of curiousity. This weekend, I might be correcting the brothers Grand Marquis, and the paint is beat to hell, but there is still orange peel on there - but from these responses, it makes it clear that it is not a good measurement of how much clear coat is left.

Andr3wilson
05-09-2014, 09:44 AM