PDA

View Full Version : Swirls in new 2014 BMW 428i Jet Black

Pages : [1] 2

rckcmp
05-02-2014, 11:05 AM
Hey guys

I purchased a Jet Black Bmw 428i Xdrive a few months back. After around 4000 miles I noticed some swirls in the paint. I have read all the post about how soft the Jet Black paint is. Does this mean ill need a less aggressive polish and pad to polish it? I am relatively new to detailing and any help on how to wash polish and wax it will be appreciated! Love the site!

conman1395
05-02-2014, 12:11 PM
Yes sir, less aggressive pad and polish.

Sent from my LG-D800 using Tapatalk

Mike@DedicatedPerfection
05-02-2014, 12:43 PM
Hi welcome to AGO! Congrats on the new black BMW. I have a pair of Jet Black e9x's myself.

Have you read through the many great articles written by Mike Phillips?

Mike

rckcmp
05-02-2014, 01:57 PM
I've read through a lot of them and was all set to buy some pads and polish and wax but the more I read about the Jet Black the less confident I was in my plan. I have a DA Polisher and have been washing properly for the most part. I'm just a little spooked because of the color and this being the first car I've ever polished. I also read BMW might have made the paint harder. I'm have a bad case of paralysis by analysis lol.

HUMP DIESEL
05-02-2014, 02:05 PM
Paralysis by Analysis. I have a buddy who would always talk about how he had that during some of our bicycle races together.

Anyway, you are in the right place for information.

As always, the steps always hold true.
1. Use the least aggressive option you can to get the "Desired" results.
2. Do a test spot to determine #1
3. Enjoy the experience of having a nice looking vehicle.

If paint softness is a concern, once you have it corrected, put on a coating that will help keep the paint looking better longer.

HUMP

WRAPT C5Z06
05-02-2014, 02:53 PM