PDA

View Full Version : First time DA user...should I start with an AIO like Blackfire TPnS or other?

puma1824
05-01-2014, 12:18 AM
I'm just starting to get into detailing. My initial focus has been the interior but am ready to start moving to the exterior. I just purchased a DA and considering either just starting with an AIO like Blackfire TPnS or going straight to a 2 step like Meguiar's DA Microfiber Correction System Kit.

If I decide on going with BF TPnS can I use a MF pad like Lake Country Ultra-Fiber Microfiber Pads? The ability and ease of cleaning on the fly with a air compressor and throwing in the wash appeals to me. Since I'm a beginner so I'm not sure if I should go this route.

Thanks in advance.

CDot
05-01-2014, 08:58 AM
I've never used MF pads with an AIO, only a compound--maybe someone else with more experience can chime in?

Hjfowler
05-01-2014, 09:14 AM
I certainly don't have a lot of experience, but I've recently started with exterior detailing as well. I bought a DA similar to you. I spoke with a member on the forum in length about how to start, what to look for, and techniques to learn how to work without causing damage. An AIO would be a good way to learn since they tend to be nonaggresive but produce nice results.

I started with XMT 360 with a white LC flat pad. I got great results and it allowed me to learn how the machine works. It also allowed me to work on some techniques without fear of burning through my cc.

Hopefully others with more experience than myself can shed more light, but for me, an AIO with a DA was a great place to start.

JSou
05-01-2014, 09:15 AM
I've done many AIO's with a MF, Cutting and Finishing. Have got great results, again it depends on the test section.

HD.Detailing
05-01-2014, 09:19 AM
the DA MF system is a great system.. most rookies get great results with it.. go for it!

Tato
05-01-2014, 11:35 AM