PDA

View Full Version : 1998 Civic Paint Correction (Newbie)

kevin_1981
04-22-2014, 10:41 PM
Picked up a 7424XP over the winter, and have been dying to use it. This is my first attempt at paint correction, and decided to work on my dad's 1998 civic that looks like it was probably never waxed and was definitely parked on the streets of Chicago during its life. The paint was in terrible condition, and the bumpers are all scratched/cracked, so I didnt do anything with them.

These are the products I used to perform my work:

Porter Cable 7424XP with 5" hook/loop plate
Lake Country CCS Pads (5.5") - Yellow for cutting, and green for polishing, waxing by hand
Meguiars Ultimate Compound
Meguiars Ultimate Polish
Meguiars Gold Class Carnauba Paste Wax
Meguiars Microfiber Polishing Cloths

All pictures taken with Nexus 5 (sorry no hood shots... took them with my regular camera, and they werent coming out good, due to poor lighting)

Here goes.... hopefully i attach these files correctly
(high quality images here Paint Correction - Imgur (http://imgur.com/a/zKcqI) )

Trunk Before (pictures make the paint look a little better than it did in person):

Trunk After (I couldnt get rid of some of the scratches):

Top Before - It didnt look as bad as the trunk/hood were. I think the previous owner probably rested carboard boxes on the trunk, or used a gas station window squeegee as a car wash:

Top After - the part past the weatherstripping was not done yet:

Passenger rear before - This was spray painted at some point just over the wheel well, where the honda rust always happens:

Passenger rear after - different angle:

Drivers door before:

Closeup of drivers door handle - bad!:

Drivers door after:

Final picture. Took me about 5.5 hours... this shot was taken at like 1:40AM.