PDA

View Full Version : Black 2002 Camaro - products you would use

cpa5oh
04-12-2014, 07:33 AM
I've got a black 2002 Camaro - it's in pretty good shape, not great. I attached a couple of pictures...it has a major tendency toward swirl marks - not holograms, but the circular "I wash my car with Dawn dish liquid and bath towels" kind of marks. All black plastic is faded to a grey-ish color. The chrome wheels have no pitting, but they do have areas that look kind of stained. The wheel wells look like a 2002 car that's been driven in the winter though the car has never seen winter weather (kind of that dull, grey ish, "this owner doesn't pay attention to the wheel wells" look.)

What products would you use? I've not been able to pay close attention to this website for the last six months (I'm a CPA) but in the next few days (end of tax season) I want to put it on this car! Money is no object as far as products are concerned...I've got a Griots Garage polisher (not going to get a new polisher) and plenty of pads...I've got alot of detailing products but am not married to any of them...and as far as correction is concerned, I can't get this car perfect because it's too old so I'm not looking to do a two day paint correction.

The best I can think of is:
- Polish: optimum hyper spray polish with orange or white foam pad (start with white, check with flashlight, go from there)
- Wax: Blackfire Wet Diamond
- Trim: Black Wow (the newer one) - I tried Ultima's product last year and wasn't impressed
- Wheels: some kind of Meguiars chrome polish...I never have polished these chrome wheels so I haven't tried anything
- Wheel Wells: Mequiars Hyper Dressing
- Glass: not sure...I could pick anything
- Tires: Optimum's tire gel (I think it's called Opti-Bond)
- After Washes: Ultimate Quik Wax (I feel like this is the best product I've ever used - an easy to use spray wax that hides most of the wash swirls...I tried the D156 detailers' version and I swear it isn't as good)