PDA

View Full Version : Rupes 21 with Mothers Professional Compound

SL%%
04-06-2014, 02:26 AM
Hi noob here and hopefully am posting this on the right forum.

I have a pre-owned silver Volvo S40 and used that as our training car in terms on how to detail a car. We're planning to open a detailing business hence the training with Mothers. The training was good but not quite satisfied with the buffing part.

What we have right now are the ff:

Rupes 21
Lake country CCS yellow pads
Mothers Professional Step 1-2-3
Flex Swirl finder Light (coming soon)

We really don't have much of variety here in the Philippines and mostly use Mother's, Meguiar's and 3M

My questions:

1.) silver is a very tricky color and at first I thought we did a great job but come find out at night, under a street light, on a certain angle and if you look really close, I still see some scratches. Thing is I don't know the paint history of the car and apparently at training, we found out that there are some parts that were re-sprayed.

Here's the thing, I've done multiple passes via "S" pattern both horizontal and vertical alternating in each passes and still see scratches. Used it on speed 5, 3 and 1, all compounding and yet, seems like it is still there.

One of two things is playing on my head, either the previous owner had it overspayed with new clear coat without removing the old scratches hence its underneath OR am doing it all wrong...

Did it on 1/2 of the trunk

2.) how can you distinguish above surface scratch and below surface scratch.

3.) the compound labeling states to use the product between 1,000 - 1,750 rpm... as for Rupes, it didn't really indicate as to what rpm it turns on certain speed or I missed it. Any Rupes user here?

4.) is a 2,000 grit wet sanding paper a good alternative for claying specially for a noob like me? Our trainer showed us how and its faster than claying specially for heavy removal of contamination.

5.) is the California duster a safe tool to remove dust?