PDA

View Full Version : It's there much difference in backing plates?

guy48065
04-03-2014, 09:59 PM
I'm new to DA buffing (unless you count a beastly 12" Dewalt I've been using for years). I have a PC 7335 but it's an older single - speed machine so I recently bought a Harbor Freight DA. It came wIth a 6" plate and just so I can get started ASAP I've swapped the 5" plate off my PC.
Although originally a sander it seems similar in stiffness to the polishers 6" plate. There's a lot of info on pads but I haven't got a handle on plates yet. Will the one I have be fine for now?

FUNX650
04-03-2014, 11:11 PM
Backing plates can be made from a variety of materials, like polyurethane, and reinforced nylon...
With many of them considered interchangeable between manufacturers.

However the most important factor is if the backing plate's hook&loop (Velcro) attachment system, is the correct/corresponding match with the pads' hook&loop attachment system.

Others may work together, but the best...and safest...bet, would be to use the same manufacturer for both pad and plate systems.

Bob

Setec Astronomy
04-03-2014, 11:47 PM
Um, if you have a backing plate for sanding, isn't it smooth for self-adhesive sanding discs, rather than Velcro?

guy48065
04-04-2014, 07:40 AM
Um, if you have a backing plate for sanding, isn't it smooth for self-adhesive sanding discs, rather than Velcro?

No -- Velcro has replaced PSA in woodworking too.

I have a follow up question: I've read the electric DA polishers can get hot in use. Why don't most plates have holes in them like my sanding plate -- wouldn't that cause some cooling?

FUNX650
04-04-2014, 07:54 AM
No -- Velcro has replaced PSA in woodworking too.

I have a follow up question: I've read the electric DA polishers can get hot in use. Why don't most plates have holes in them like my sanding plate -- wouldn't that cause some cooling?
Some BPs do have holes.
Some types of pads also have holes.
Some cooling may occur. YMMV.

Bob