PDA

View Full Version : Megs 21 + wax w/ DA

Chones
03-27-2014, 01:14 PM
Hi All,

First post. Just wanted to thank y'all for all the great info on the forums. It's helped tremendously.

Anyway, this weekend I plan do do some light corrective work on my less than a year old civic. Light swirls, nothing too bad. With my DA, I plan on using a black pad with megs UP. Since the paint is in good shape, I think that combo should work well--though this is my first time using a DA, so if anyone has suggestions, I'd certainly entertain them!

After I do the polishing step, I plan on using megs 21. I have always used this product as my lsp prior to purchasing a DA.

Two questions:
1) is that product (megs 21) ok to be used w/ a DA w/ white pad?
2) since I bought a DA, I figured I might as well go all out. After applying the megs 21, can I also apply something like blackfire wet diamond on top of the sealant? Would it be advisable to wait a period of time for the sealant to cure? Red pad for this?

Ok, that was more than two questions, sorry. Thanks in advance for reading and any tips y'all might be able to offer.

Cheers.

Mike Phillips
03-27-2014, 01:26 PM
Welcome to AutogeekOnline! :welcome:

Hi All,

Two questions:

1) is that product (megs 21) ok to be used w/ a DA w/ white pad?

If you're pre-polishing, then use your softest pad to apply the M21.

When you say "white pad", I'm assuming you're talking about the pad that came with the Porter Cable?

If so, it's more aggressive than either the Meguiar's black finishing pad or the Lake Country black finishing pad. (You didn't mention the brand?).

Point being, to polish with a finishing pad and then apply M21 with a polishing pad would be what I call....

Working backwards...

You would be better to apply the polish with the factory PC white pad and then apply the wax with the black finishing pad.