PDA

View Full Version : Questions Regarding Sealants

RubbishReview
03-21-2014, 11:42 AM
So I have been tossing the idea around of applying a sealant to my car such as Chemical Guys Jet Seal, but have a few questions.

If you apply a sealant do you still need to wax the car?

Will a carnauba wax even work after a sealant has been applied, meaning will it adhere to the car?

I have read that sealants tend to not have the same level of depth as a carnauba based wax. Would applying wax over top of the sealant as some have suggested correct this?

While I have read that sealants can last a long time up to a year, what kind of protection do they provide? Do they protect the paint as well as a carnauba wax or do they simply just look shiny for an extended period of time?

Coopers ST
03-21-2014, 12:03 PM
I am still new at this, but from what I have read and learned...

1. No, the sealant will give you the protection you need
2. Yes, many still apply a wax after the sealant. When spring finaly springs I am going to apply the Wolfgang Deepgloss Sealant 3.0, probably two coats, then a coat or two of Meguiars #26. You need to be careful though that the wax you apply on top of the sealant doesn't have any cleaners in it or it could/will remove some/all the sealant.
3a. Not sure on that, it may depend on the prep.
3b. Yes, that is why most apply the wax on top.
4. I think they give better protection than just a wax, and yes for a longer period of time. My plan at this point is...my car stays in the garage at home, but is my DD and stays outside at work. I am going to wash everyweek with a normal soap and two bucket wash. Everyother wash I am going to use a spray wax to help maintain the protection, and once a month use the Wolfgang sealant spritz stuff. Not sure if that is overkill but maybe someone will chime in on your questions, and hit on mine also :)

Klasse Act
03-21-2014, 12:07 PM