PDA

View Full Version : Darn You Autogeek!!! Need help deciding

Pages : [1] 2

makdaddy626
07-13-2007, 08:28 AM
What started out at as a simple Google search to find out what products were best for taking care of my new truck has, in a just a few weeks, turned into an obsession. DARN YOU AUTOGEEK!

After trying some of the great products from AG and spending time on the forums, I'm hooked (anyone know a good therapist for addiction?).

Anyway, I think I'm left with no choice by to purchase a buffer now and am once again asking you for help in putting together the order. So...

Porter Cable or UDM?

LCC or Edge?

I have NO (zero, nada, none) experience with machine buffing. I like the idea of the quick change system of the edge pads but not if I'm sacrificing performance. Any recommendations as to what I should order? One of the many kits available, or, if you think it's better, what individual pieces?

Oh, one more question. Which polishes to get? I have a 1999 jeep in serious need of some TLC and a brand new Tacoma with only the "included at no additional charge" dealer imperfections. Which works better, a system like the XMT series where you pick the level of abraviseness or something like the Wolfgang swirl remover that seems like a "one-size-fits-all" pad dependant polish?

Thanks in advance.

supercharged
07-13-2007, 08:44 AM
UDM, only UDM. I also strongly recommend Edge 2000 kit, as I'm not a big fan of backing plate.

makdaddy626
07-13-2007, 09:01 AM
Supercharged, what about pad selection? I don't see a UDM/edge kit, any advice on the types of pads I should get for a "starter" kit?

makdaddy626
07-13-2007, 09:05 AM
Also, just noticed while looking at the UDM, it says it won't work with the Edge DA adapter? Which would you give up, the UDM or the Edge system?

supercharged
07-13-2007, 09:17 AM
Ultimate Detailing Machine™ Dual Action Orbital Polisher (http://www.autogeek.net/udm-ultimate-detailing-machine.html)