PDA

View Full Version : newbie intro and advice needed

kevinb
03-13-2014, 06:26 PM
Hello,
I Wanted to take the time to post on the forum for two reasons. First and foremost, to introduce myself. I have been a follower of the forum for about a month and just joined this past week simply because I felt that if I got such enjoyment from the information posted on here, it would only be right to support autogeek financially for providing me the information in such a nice platform. Thus, joined a week ago and already placed an order for $500 for Wolfgang, Pinnacle, Collinite, and Megs products! Lol. They got me!! Lol.
Seriously, I have been detailing cars on the side for about 15 years. It all started because I had friends and coworkers always admiring my personal cars and then ultimately bugging me into making theirs look as good as mine. So, off it took. I detail cars for two reasons. #1: I enjoy it immensely and it relaxes me and gives me a sense of pride to turn something bad into something good. #2: It provides me with money to support my hobby of collecting gas station memorabilia (globes, signs, pumps etc…). I do not ever see myself devoting myself full time to detailing simply because after doing cars on the weekends, I am exhausted as I head back to a full work week. Putting 6 or 7 hours into detailing a car on Saturday and one on Sunday is quite enough for me. I give credit to those who do it full time. I think maybe I am like some on here who actually enjoy taking the more than occasional soccer mom trashed minivan and making it new again. Sometimes I like doing those more than the well up-kept ones. Strange... I know. I have for sure taken a beating on money received as compared to effort put forth on a vehicle, but I like helping those out that are not as fortunate as me and I always seem to be on the shortside of the money equation. No biggie to me though. Detailing feeds my passion for it, I support my hobby, and all that I have left over goes back into s