PDA

View Full Version : Need diagnoses and prescription!

genesiss
03-09-2014, 09:02 PM
Hi all,

I just bought this 99 es 300 last week. The body is basically excellent shape but the paint is a different story. It is peeling in numerous places. What is happening to it? Is this clearcoat failure?

My budget to improve the paint is around 300-400$. I have very little knowledge of how to go about this. I figure either some type of DIY job or have someone do it for me. I realize at that price point I can probably only afford a Maco job.

If I do go the route of DIY, what approach needs to be taken, and also what are the best items and particular brands for the job? I stepped into a auto store and was overwhelmed with the choices. Specifics would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

rolop6
03-09-2014, 09:08 PM
Yes, the paint is done! Your only option with that budget IS macoo. But that paint job won't last. You get what you pay for with body and paint work. So either save up and get it done right or get a cheap paint job for now.

A-train
03-09-2014, 09:45 PM
I don't know how you feel about it but Plasti-dip would be a good option for your budget and it would be a fun diy project. With all the options and colors they offer and the new gloss enhancers there are a lot of good looking vehicles out their. I think I would do that before a Maaco job.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

genesiss
03-10-2014, 07:14 PM
Ok so I decided I don't want to risk my car at Maaco. I'd rather just polish it up as best as I can to minimize the flaws.

Whats the best polishes and applicators to buy?

How many do I need - Is just an abrasive polisher like Ultimate compound enough? Or is there any additional applications of different chemicals or compounds needed before or after? Sealants or waxes etc. Please help!

octane
03-10-2014, 07:20 PM
you need a new paint job, no amount of polishing can fix that!

inDetail
03-10-2014, 07:26 PM