PDA

View Full Version : Advice: Help me with my very first paint correction.

Pages : [1] 2

MitchLiving
03-01-2014, 04:10 PM
OK guys i've been doing my homework something serious and i'm excited to do my first paint correction. This is a Co-workers car which he purchased used not to long ago so he didn't own it from new.
He knows this will be my first time doing this and he knows the paint looks like Chit already so nothing that much worse can come out of me trying to make it look better.
I am doing this for him for FREE as it is my first time as I need something decent to practice on. Yes I know the amount of time it takes to paint correct. (HOURS ON END)
I've looked at enough back from the dead detail pictures from you guys (such talent) to know I can make this car look MUCH better than it is now.
A quick side note, My 2000 Maxima which was repainted last year will be on this site soon for Cut and Buff advice session as well. Stay tuned for the pictures on that.

I have a Griots polisher on it's way with 6.5" discs and yes, I am ordering the 5.5 backing plate.
With the GG6 I have the Meg's 105 - 205 polishing compounds.
I don't own any other pads besides what is coming with my GG6 which as I stated before are 6.5 disks.

I will have many questions for you guys as you look at the MANY pictures and help me decide how i am going to attack this Mustang.
It's a 97 mustang and from the pictures it's obviously never been touched by anything outside of rain and maybe a drive-thru car wash. I washed the car the night before so you can see the paint as best as possible.
As you look at this paint what will be the best thing to do and NOT to do.

I don't know if I will get a clay bar or the Nanoskin cloth you guys can chime in on this as well.
I will seal this car as i will not be reapplying wax every 3-4 week.