PDA

View Full Version : How often can you machine polish a car?

cheekyage
02-28-2014, 07:24 PM
Hi all,

I'm trying to understand how many times you can machine polish a car.

By reading all the how-to threads it seems that every time you machine polish you are effectively removing the clear coat.

This would then limit the amount of "play" you have for correction.

As I am new to this, I've put together a few newbie questions:

1. How would I know how much "play" there is to ensure a safe correction?

2. How often would you machine polish a car?

3. If you machine polish in January 2014 and then go at it again in February 2015 wouldn't I be removing more clear coat and putting myself at risk of causing paint damage?

4. If you are fixing another Detailers mistake or poor correction in the space of a few days/weeks/months - would this be removing more clear coat?

Appreciate your help and advice :)

PrismDetailing
02-28-2014, 07:34 PM
1. This is why a paint depth gauge is essential. One time you could remove "x" amount of microns of clearcoat and more or less the next time and soo on....Also will depend on the make of car for example a VAG car will be about 140 microns (average) whilst a Mitsubishi Evo could be about 100 microns (or less). Also you do not know the history of the paint. It could have been repainted, so the strike through point changes.

2. You would want to work on the basis of removing as little clear coat as possible. How often can you ? that again depends on question 1.

3. Everytime you are correcting you are removing some clearcoat

4. Depending on the other detailers mistake or poor correction, if its only hologramming, should be an easy fix to refine. If its been striked through, its game over and if its anything else, let us know.

I think the main things im trying to say.....without a paint depth gauge, its like playing russian roulette.

nodule
02-28-2014, 07:54 PM