PDA

View Full Version : Opti-coat....hmmmm

Pages : [1] 2

casvg5
02-21-2014, 12:26 PM
oooooook. You've all got my attention.

Im a pure carnauba fan boy. I love the way it goes on, smells, looks, everything. But I have customers asking about opti-coat.

My problem is I do not like the idea of something permanent. Is it REALLY that permanent? I'm sure you can polish it off.....

I've resisted getting into it for a long time....but what are peoples real opinions on it. Hopefully the guys that just love to be the first to talk about something new have already left the crowd.

Honest opinions and feedback please!

Again, im not a noob to detailing in any way. Im in my 3rd year as a professional, own and operate a 3000sqft detailing shop, with very happy customers.

hernandez.art13
02-21-2014, 12:39 PM
I actually asked if Opti Coat is "permanent" and just got random looks by other detailers...

I also asked if I were to opti coat a car and from there leave it inside a garage for 100 years (exaggerated for dramatic effect btw) if the coating will still be in place and I was told that yes it would be.

but even claying is some form of abrasiveness so go figure

Mike Phillips
02-21-2014, 01:06 PM
Dr. David Ghodoussi, most call him Dr. G, helped me to word the definition of the word permanent as it relates to coatings, or at least his coating.

3-Categories: Waxes, Paint Sealants and Coatings (http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/hot-topics-frequently-asked-questions/34185-3-categories-waxes-paint-sealants-coatings.html)

In an effort to help standardize terms used in the detailing industry, now that CQuartz and Opti-Coat 2.0 are mainstream, there are three general categories in the "Protection" category

Waxes
Paint Sealants
Coatings

Waxes