PDA

View Full Version : Salt build up removal.

Pages : [1] 2 3

mmartin0617
02-17-2014, 10:32 AM
Ok guys I tried searching forn a thread on this and my phone is doing something weird and won't let me. I am very new to every aspect of detailing. Go easy on me. I attached a picture so hopefully it shows up. Oddly enough there are people who will say that you don't need a hot water extractor. Well tell me how my VX5000 is going to solve this problem. Of course I tried steaming the salt mound down. Sure who am I kidding but nothing ventured nothing gained. The thing I am hearing was vinegar and water compound. Maybe this will work. But what about the "1/2 thick salt mounds in customers cars I will have to deal with when I start?Any help? Pressure wash floor mats for this? Don't have on yet. Will I need one and a hot water extractor to do tough interiors? I just can't see how a streamer is going to tackle every situation.

dcjredline
02-17-2014, 11:10 AM
Vinegar may work, or try some Folex.

Kyle_Elantra
02-17-2014, 11:16 AM
Try using a brush, you can get ones that attach to your drill or your DA.

I use a stiff yellow brush from CG attached to a drill. I soak the mats in APC or Folex. Then use the brush and do a couple of passes. After that either use an extractor or a wet/dry vac to pull the solution up. I have a Bissell machine ~ that's not heated ~ and it works fine. I let the Folex and agitation do the work and use the water only to flush out the cleaner.

Dr_Pain
02-17-2014, 11:17 AM