PDA

View Full Version : Pinnacle Black Label Diamond Paint Coating - Quick Review

UglyBetty
02-15-2014, 09:30 PM
I'm new to coatings, this is the first one I've tried.

For a perspective, I did this to a 2 year old vehicle with a well maintained finish, and virtually no swirls marks.

Basic Process:
Chemical Guys Wash and Gloss @ 1 oz / gallon (or more) for wash to strip previous sealant/wax.
Nanoskin fine grade mitt using nanoskin glide lube at 10/1(not a fan of their glide lube, but the mitt is a great alternative to clay).
M205 on hood, before realizing it was unnecessary.
PBL surface Cleansing Polish, applied with a black LC flat pad, Flex PE-14.
PBL Diamond Paint Coating, using Lake Country coating applicator & car pro suede microfiber applicator.

Pros: PBL coating is super easy to use, even for a rookie. Looks great. Super slick, similar to WGDGPS.

Cons: PBL cleansing polish is a pain in the butt using a rotary, dries really fast, reducing speed to 2.5 helps. Easy to work with by hand however, which leads me to believe its probably better suited to a DA at moderate speeds. I stuck with the rotary, rather than grabbing the DA.

Tato
02-15-2014, 09:41 PM
Great review!

I've been using PBL Surface Coating for a while, if you take a look at my threads there may be 2 or 3 coatings applications following ~the line you've chose, W&G, clay mitt, however I do use the Mitt with soap for lube.

PBL Cleansing polish is somewhat tricky, you should treat it like a 'cleansing lotion' more then a 'polish'. Spread it and wipe off.

Avoid hitting the trim while applying by machine, I'm yet to know a product that will remove the marks it can leave on trim if accidentally hit. Better to tape, apply by hand or be veeery careful if using by machine. I apply with DA, indeed.

More than the 'beauty' of the coating applied, you'll like the easiness that washing will turn from now on.