PDA

View Full Version : Are some products labeled as a "Glaze" just a polish?

Pages : [1] 2

AuroraDetailing
02-14-2014, 02:12 AM
I have been looking through the forum, and recently read up what a glaze actually was, and the explanation I saw was that it is NOT a polish and has fillers to make a smoother surface. So I was interested in trying some out (I have been detailing for a few years but have only dealt with compounds, polishes, waxes, and sealants) and I'm a huge fan of WGDGS 3.0, and looked at their glaze, but it says it has no fillers. So what does it actually do that a polish wouldn't? I'm guessing since a polish is removed completely after use, the glaze leaves a layer that can be waxed or sealed over? I currently use CG V38 as my everyday polish step and I do production detailing for the most part.

hernandez.art13
02-14-2014, 02:36 AM
From my understanding there are no rules or regulations when companies in the detailing industry name there products or what they can or can't do. For the most part...

So a glaze in company A does certain things and contains certain ingredients and glaze in company B can be something completely different.

I could be wrong though...

AuroraDetailing
02-14-2014, 02:58 AM
Yeah, that's what I was wanting to find out. Just as there is a defined difference between a wax and a sealant (even though there are hybrids), I was wondering if a glaze is always a glaze by definition, even though some of the descriptions of them don't seem any different than a polish. I have plenty of polish left that I am perfectly happy with (V38, M205), so not interested in buying a product that is just going to do the same thing, but if it has something different to offer, I'd be willing to try it out. I'm kind of specifically talking about the Wolfgang glaze in this case.

FUNX650
02-14-2014, 03:47 AM
I realize you said that you've been reading about glazes...