PDA

View Full Version : First wash help

UNCkid
01-30-2014, 09:39 AM
Hello,

I am new to detailing world and extremely happy I came across this forum before I tried my first car wash.

My 2014 camry has never been washed (told dealer to not wash it either). Its 3 weeks old and it snowed in NC so super dirty. Its going to be nice this (60 I think) weekend but will be snowing again end of next weekend. I would love to wash this weekend and have some thing on it to protect it against the salt/weather before next snow.

please advice some products which could help me achieve the wash and protection. As of right now I am totally lost anything will help.

Regards

Skoob
01-30-2014, 09:52 AM
Welcome to AG. I too live in NC, Charlotte to be exact. Snow finally off the roads. We are lucky our northern friends never see 60's for months.
A good car wash with lots of suds like Meguiars or AutoGeeks Pinnalce brand soaps, a good microfiber wash mit. I have one from Griots Garage. Don't forget to rinse the undercarriage to get rid of the salt.
When I wash I have two buckets with grit gards in the bottom. One bucket with soap the other to rinse my mit.
The key is wash in small sections and rinse the mit after each section and put on fresh soap. I do the tires last and with a older mit this will keep the brake dust from the good mit that touches the paint.

I use meguiars tech wax as my protection. The guys on this site will also have some good suggestions on a wax or coating.

Others will chime in, there are so many good tips on this site. Enjoy the new car.

mfrickman
01-30-2014, 09:55 AM
Welcome from Raleigh!

To answer your question, the easiest thing for you to do is to go to advanced auto or Walmart and pickup some Meguiars Gold Class car wash and some Meguiars Ultimate liquid wax. Both are great OTC products that will exceed your expectations.