PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to layer carnauba right after Opti-Coat?

Znig22
01-28-2014, 10:13 PM
I am preparing to correct a 2013 Ferrari California. I will also be applying opti-coat 2.0 throughout. I would like to follow this with 1-2 layers of DODO juice purple haze. How long after applying opti coat do I need to wait to apply my carnauba?

Btw, what is everyones thought of Dodo juice purple haze? I can't see investing $200+ in a carnauba so I went with what I have some knowledge of.

Audios S6
01-28-2014, 11:21 PM
Chris @ optimum has suggest to wait "a while" before using any high solvent product. I would consider virtually any wax a high solvent product.

Chris has also suggested to avoid any harsh cleaners for at least a week.

My suggestion would be to have the client return after a week so you can check for any high spots or missed areas in the opti-coat, then apply the dodo juice purple haze.

FUNX650
01-28-2014, 11:28 PM
Unless you have access to I.R. Lamps...(in order to help speed-up OC's total cure time)...
I'll suggest: ~30 days.

Bob

Chris Thomas
01-29-2014, 12:00 AM
My aka is Chris@Optimum. You should wait a week as mentioned, but I would suggest instant Detailer or optimum wax to boost gloss over the dodo. It will most likely only stick for a few weeks to the coating and may actually attract dust.

Chris Thomas
01-29-2014, 12:03 AM
That is instead of dodo, not on top of it. It sounded weird when I reread or.

primo spaghetti
01-29-2014, 06:52 AM
i never understood the point of topping OC with anything. you are changing the properties and purpose of the OC. why not just use the carnuaba if that is what you are looking for?

Znig22
01-29-2014, 05:20 PM
i never understood the point of topping OC with anything. you are changing the properties and purpose of the OC. why not just use the carnuaba if that is what you are looking for?