PDA

View Full Version : New black car owner and received the dreaded unrequested DISO

Pages : [1] 2

ArthaithSQ
01-25-2014, 11:04 PM
Hello all,

I'm new to the world of car detailing. I recently bought a new black Toyoto FJ Cruiser and I was very eager and motivated to keep it looking its best. Of course, how that I have perused this forum I knew I made so many newbie mistakes at the dealership that I could have avoided.

Firstly, I picked up the truck in the evening. The black truck looked great and all glossy in the dim parking lot. We've been having overcast weather for a while now, until a few days ago the sun was shining bright and to my horror, I noticed the truck covered with swirl marks. I was pretty heartbroken at the condition of the body. But know very little about car detailing, I went to a professional detailer and asked his option. He basically told me a new vehicle should look like this. Someone butcher it by washing it improperly, causing all the swirls. He checked my roof and also commented that the transport film was taken off without much care as there are residue of the glue left.

So I went back to the dealership. They insisted that the swirls are normal and it's on every car. And that because I picked a black car, they are much more noticeable. I was prepared that a black car will take more work to maintain... but I felt like I didn't even get a chance to maintain a nice paint job as it never came with one in the first place.

After a lot of back and forth, the dealership suggested that they will re-polish it and wax it. They have already claimed that the swirls will still be there, but maybe just less obvious. Then also offered me a deal on their paint protection treatment option at half price. I'm under the impression this paint protection treatment is pretty much useless, am I correct?