PDA

View Full Version : Need help resolving some paint issues

ENDEE666
07-04-2007, 10:53 AM
Hey all. Newbie here to the forum, but looks great thus far... Wish I found it sooner!

I have a few paint issues with my car I need to resolve. The car is a 91 300zx, its bright red. The car was completely stripped & smoothed & re-sprayed about 3 years ago. However, since last summer, the paint has these blemishes that I can not get rid of. It has light spots that are kinda pink in color. Only on areas facing up. Hood, rear hatch & spoiler, and the little bit of roof (car has t tops so mostly glass) and not on the sides. I have tried many things & they just dont go away. I did a Meguiars 3 step system, consisting of cleaner, polish & wax. When I wax it, you see them less, but they are still there. And for some reason, within a few days they are visible again. And they show their ugly faces if I wash it too.

I am thinking I maybe need something rougher to cut a little more aggressively, and then once they are gone & I have a nice shine, I should seal & protect it with a poly sealer first and then wax. So I get protection as well as get the shine of a carnuba.

I have looked into a few products & have some in mind. But want to see what you guys recommend first.

Thanks for the help

sparkie
07-04-2007, 08:12 PM
Welcome to AGOL. Do you have any pics? That would help.
Hard to say what it could be, hope the painter prepped the car right. Thinking out loud, sounds like it could be silicone was on the body and paint was sprayed on top. Don't know that for sure.

ENDEE666
07-04-2007, 11:00 PM
I will try to get some pics. In more detail, the pink spots are still shiny & dont have any texture differences. Just pale spots. Ranging from the size of a dime to a silver dollar. Resemble water spots in shape..

ENDEE666
07-05-2007, 12:01 AM