PDA

View Full Version : Looking into DA

Nicklyons
01-22-2014, 09:49 PM
Hello all. I am new to the forum and have seen everyone's marvelous work.. I currently work in a shop and run a mobile truck in the Tampa area, however I am becoming more and more interested in the applications and uses for a DA. I currently use a rotary and can use it efficiently on everything but black. It seems every black vehicle I've been handed lately he to be compounded/glazed/polished (to remove swirls) and then waxes. It seems to me like a DA is more forgiving than a rotary(?). Can anyone give me some advice and possibly get me started on the right path to using a DA?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The Critic
01-22-2014, 10:49 PM
A rotary will always have more cut than a DA, but a rotary will often require more steps (and skill) to finish without holograms or trails.

If you are already have a rotary, I would pick-up a Rupes 15 or 21 just for finishing.

The other areas where a DA can shine (especially a Rupes), is on one-step corrections with Microfiber pads. You may be able to get more cut without worry about holograms. Here's an example:

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/show-n-shine/75101-got-holograms-orinda-auto-detail.html#post1021721

brondondolon
01-22-2014, 11:49 PM
I like you learned on a rotory and wouldnt touch black paint. Then go figure i buy a black truck... I wanted so bad to take my rotory to it but it scared the hell out of me. So i bought a porter cable DA and i dont think i can put a swirl in my black paint if i tried. Rupes and Flex are good you cant go wrong with either. For the price though you cant beat the porter cable imo.