PDA

View Full Version : Need more cut, new machine or pad/compound? [Newb]

Pages : [1] 2 3

jlinder
01-21-2014, 11:15 PM
I'm new to machine polishing having owned a PC for a few years and mainly using it on my own vehicles for a quick shine with poliseal or to apply a cleaner wax.

Now, my wife and I both upgraded our DD's so I have two vehicles to prepare for sale and two more to get into shape.

I started with the Meg's microfiber system on the pearl white Escalade and it turned out great. Today I started on the red Tundra and immediately noticed I either need more machine or better compound/pad combo. The improvement was noticeable but 5 or 6 section passes didn't remove the last 10% of light scratches. The caveat is I'm still learning so I need a combo that's forgiving (idiot proof).

The next two vehicles to polish are both SUV's so I have a lot of real estate to cover.

To my question would a different pad/compound combo gain me enough cut and efficiency with my PC or should I jump straight to a rupes or flex? For now free time is short so anything to make the process more time efficient would be ideal.

I do have dreams of working into detailing for profit some day as I gain more knowledge and skill. Its one thing I truly enjoy doing after a week in the trenches. If not for that I would work with what I have and call it good.

What I have now:

PC with 5" backing plate
Meg's microfiber system (pads, d300 & d301)
Clay, misc waxes and qd's
Misc LC finishing pads

Just ordered:

Optimum GPS, hydrotech pad assortment

If it matters I'm partial to Optimum products already as I love and use ONR, poliseal, power clean and the spray wax. Only picked up the Meg's stuff because it was available locally.

Here's the Caddy
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/22/3upebany.jpg

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Kaban
01-22-2014, 12:26 AM