PDA

View Full Version : Getting started in the detail industry

Pages : [1] 2

Prerunner06
01-16-2014, 01:04 PM
I am debating about switching jobs from wrenching on cars to detailing cars. Currently I have been wrenching for just under 2 years absoulty hate it. I have always used detsiling as my get away. Then started doing friends and families cars. Made money to travel for vacations and such.

My main concerns are that I have never seen in a detailing job listing that there are benefits. Is this a rarity in this industry? And also how can I get into a shop with just my weekend worrior experience? I have skills just not with a rotary. Seems to always hold me back.

I would love to be my own boss but right now I need the benefits for my wife who has ms. Once she is done getting her masters degree and gets a job with benifits. She said I can go full steam ahead on that. But it would just be nice to make money doing something your passionate about.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

KMG
01-16-2014, 01:20 PM
Sounds like you should really just suck it up for a few more years till your wife is done with school. Unless you have a good amount of clients already, you don't want to go into something new when your the only source of income in your household.

Prerunner06
01-16-2014, 01:36 PM
That's totally my plan. I was just hoping to get into a shop in the meantime just curious how to get in to the industry and about benefits

Bill1234
01-16-2014, 01:54 PM
I am debating about switching jobs from wrenching on cars to detailing cars. Currently I have been wrenching for just under 2 years absoulty hate it. I have always used detsiling as my get away. Then started doing friends and families cars. Made money to travel for vacations and such.