PDA

View Full Version : CQuartz and other comparable products

Stevelsd
01-05-2014, 09:15 PM
As I have stated in a previous post, I am new to the detailing arena.

I did post a question regarding Pittman's Vapor Wax but no one commented.

Feed back please

Regarding CQuartz and other comparable competitive products, does this product replace the ritual polishing and waxing?

Do these products bring out a deep wet shine or are they just a "protective clear coat" product?

Does one polish and wax AND THEN apply these CQuartz like products?

:props:

Thank you ahead of time
Stevelsd

MirandaAutoSpa
01-05-2014, 09:38 PM
I didn't see your Pittmans Vapor Wax, but I have have have recently been getting into coatings. From my research and consulting with other detailers coatings like Cquartz, Gtechniq, etc. are extremely durable and do add excellent gloss and shine. I started using Opticoat which I felt was the one of the easiest coatings to apply, so I am currently testing that.
Coatings are a completely different product then wax, the paint needs to be not only clean properly, but corrected (removal of swirls and such) to your liking, then wiped with a oil and wax remover like IPA to completely clean the surface free of all oils left from the polishes. Then the coating needs to be applied meticulously with proper lighting. Then allowed to cure per directions.
After applying the coating and allowing to cure, you can maintain it with a wax or sealant, but it won't bond to the coating so it won't last long.

TundraPower
01-05-2014, 10:56 PM
I didn't see your Pittmans Vapor Wax, but I have have have recently been getting into coatings. From my research and consulting with other detailers coatings like Cquartz, Gtechniq, etc. are extremely durable and do add excellent gloss and shine. I started using Opticoat which I felt was the one of the easiest coatings to apply, so I am currently testing that.