PDA

View Full Version : Rotaries & Menzerna vs. Optimum

Pages : [1] 2

D
07-01-2007, 12:45 AM
Well I did two cars this week with pretty bad swirls and very hard CC. It made me realize that I really need to get a rotary and some new polish. Ive never used a rotary before, so Im new to all of this. I got the cheap one from Harbor Freight, I also ordered some Optimum Polish and Compound, no Hyper Compound.

I would like an experienced person who has used both Optimum and Menzerna to compare and contrast the two. Specifically Optimum polish and compound, compared to Menzerna SIP and 106ff.

I would also like to be schooled on rotary use (keep in mind Im using Optimum). I think Ive got the basics down, keep it moving, dont hit plastic and door handles, dont go over 1300rpm, be careful with plastic bumpers, keep the back of the pad tilted up. What else is there?

Ive got a spare hood, so my plan is to practice on that for at least a week so I can get use to it. Then I might give it a shot on my dads Audi since it has a hard CC. Otherwise Ill try it on some panels on my car which need repaint anyways. Point is, I want a couple weeks worth of practice before I even think of touching a customers car with it.

D
07-01-2007, 01:00 AM
Looking for some videos on using rotaries. I came across this one, zymol detailer - offyourmarks - 911 turbo (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=98837705686147732&q=rotary+polisher&total=9&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=2) Now it looks to me like he definitely stops in places for a few seconds, and he polishes part of the hood where he didnt originally spread any polish onto. Is this good practice? Doesnt seem like a video I should be learning from.

Heres another one I found. YouTube - Zymol detailer on Lotus super 7 #2 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lm80kdbYyAA&mode=related&search=) It looks like this guy is moving a lot faster and I can see the bottom of the pad being tilted up.

Nica
07-01-2007, 01:01 AM