PDA

View Full Version : Newer Car, need help selecting the best Polish

jerseyjoe
12-29-2013, 04:29 PM
I have a 2014 Mustang GT, purchased new 6 months ago. The first week I bought it I clay barred and put on a coat of Wolfgang Paint Sealer which has held up nicely.

I just got a Porter 7424 and will be claying, polishing, sealing again. I'm new to polishing and I need help with my selection.
I do NOT want to use anything to strong or abrasive which will arbitrarily break down my clear coat. I have a light scratch or two on the hood (very minor) and I also have some very light swirls likely from washing drying... They are faint and cannot be seen unless you are unclose with a light or in direct over-head sunlight.

I also notice that my clear coat seems too be very soft, it tends to scratch very easily (with a fingernail) and I have to be very careful washing/drying.

With my paint being still very new and the car just having minor swirling - What would you recommend??? A Cleaner wax or a Polish....

I have been considering Menzerna FF3000, Meguiar's Ultimate Polish, and a few others.... let me know your recommendations for very faint swirls and just a few minor scratches, I am new to DA polishing and appreciate any feedback!
THanks!

HateSwirls
12-29-2013, 04:43 PM
The least aggressive start would be UP using a white pad.
If that's not getting the job done switch to an orange pad, hopefully that does it.
If it's still not enough then move up to m205, same, start out with a white pad.
I seem to get great results using the 205 and white pad.

Keep us posted.

KJW Detailing
12-29-2013, 04:58 PM
Welcome JerseyJoe. Are you located in NJ, if so where?