PDA

View Full Version : New member from Florida

Mark0101
12-18-2013, 06:01 PM
Hi guys, Just wanted to introduce myself and get some advice from you guys. I am new to this whole detailing world and it is over whelming with the amount of information on this forum. :xyxthumbs: My questions will be in bold.

I am just trying to learn to do it on my own cars and have no intention of starting a business. I am building up my inventory but it takes a lot of money as you all know. So far I have Meg m105, meg m205 and Collinite 845 wax. I still have yet to buy pads, that is next. I can get Meg pads for 50% off from "advance auto parts" with coupons, so just waiting on the coupons to arrive right now. I see you guys use "LC" products a lot but they would be quite a bit more expensive for me to buy over the Megs which I don't see a lot of people use here. Would it be ok if I stick with Meg pads?

I just couldn't wait till the coupons arrived to buy the pads yet, so I made do with what I had. Harbor freight buffer, foam pad it come with and wool pad which again I bought from HF.
http://imageshack.us/a/img10/4079/7h1c.jpg

The car I am working on is a 97 Lincoln Mark VIII tri-coat pearl white. This is my daily driver. Now the paint IMO is really bad with swirls all over the place.

http://imageshack.us/a/img209/1505/88ge.jpg

I only did the trunk to see what could be done. Washed and clay bar the trunk to start with the Meg M105. Started with the Foam pad and M105 you saw on the pic but it didn't do anything with the swirls. Switched over to the wool type pad and it started to remove the swirls. Now I thought I would get the rest with Meg M205 with the foam pad. Are you suppose to remove all the swirls with the M105 and then move to M205 just to make it glossy? If not, I guess the foam pad that I am using just doesn't do crap.

After M105 and M205
http://imageshack.us/a/img202/3083/czw5.jpg

http://imageshack.us/a/img823/1258/ys2c.jpg