PDA

View Full Version : Things you feel while detailing

Pages : [1] 2 3

stilltipping3
12-06-2013, 06:50 AM
In the beginning I am anxious to start. By the afternoon I'm in a groove. By night fall I am exhausted. When the pocket is full and the car looks awesome the feeling is uplifting. That's why I do it.

bsmith0404
12-06-2013, 07:34 AM
Just relaxed and at peace throughout the entire process. No stress, nobody pressing you to meet some deadline, nobody shooting at you.....just me, my machine, and some good music. What's not to love?

Darion
12-06-2013, 07:54 AM
I do cars on the side so for me I'm excited to get started, enjoy the time by myself, love the work that goes into it and seeing the result compared to where I started. Very few things I do make me feel the sense of accomplishment as does making a vehicle look its best and customer compliments are icing on the cake! :dblthumb2:

PC

jpegs13
12-06-2013, 07:57 AM
I'm not a pro so it's not about the money. I do it because it relaxes me and gives me great pride in the results.

Plus with 5 kids, 4 of them girls, it gets me out of the house

bsmith0404
12-06-2013, 08:02 AM
Plus with 5 kids, 4 of them girls, it gets me out of the house

I think I'd turn pro to get out more often:bolt:

Mike Phillips
12-06-2013, 08:03 AM
I look at each car as its own challenge.

Before I start and during the project I feel the pressure for all the responsibility for the work and risk involved. Most, not all but most of the cars I detail are special interest vehicles and they bring with them their own kind of stress. For example I buffed out the below red car about this time last year and not only was the paint completely swirled out it was also,

Soft.
Single stage paint.
Had pre-existing burn-throughs on the hard thin edges of the body panels that showed white primer.

While it was a little stressful doing the machine polishing work I did the job in about 5.5 hours and charged $600.00 so the reward made the stress worth it.