PDA

View Full Version : Ever have a client ask you if you would change their oil?

Pages : [1] 2

jta98z
12-05-2013, 09:40 AM
Is it something you would consider if they $$?

RTexasF
12-05-2013, 10:01 AM
No, nor would I do it if they did ask.

Corey@OptimalDetailing
12-05-2013, 10:04 AM
I certainly would not. Unless it is family or friends, not happening. I am more than capable, but at that point you're jumping into a mechanic position and that isn't what you're there to do. I would tell them to drive in or drop it off at a quick-lube place.

rouxster
12-05-2013, 10:13 AM
I'm not a professional detailer, but I have my own side business in another line of work. I think there is too much liability there. No matter what they tell you, you don't know what kind of oil is in there or what or much to use, you could get the wrong filter, etc. Too much to go wrong and if someone burns up an engine after you changed the oil, you are in some hot water. They could have engine issues that they are not telling you about either. No Way Jose!

tuscarora dave
12-05-2013, 10:28 AM
It's kind of the other way around for me.

When I have a customer's car in the shop for a detail and I notice that the oil change sticker shows the oil needs changed, I call the owner of the car and offer to change the oil while I have the car with me. The customer feels taken care of and I make some easy profit above and beyond the detail.

That's what garage keepers and liability insurance is for. I see opportunity I grab it.

GenesisCoupe
12-05-2013, 10:35 AM
Nope, not an oil change guy, plus i don't have anything to do it with.

jta98z
12-05-2013, 10:41 AM

When I have a customer's car in the shop for a detail and I notice that the oil change sticker shows the oil needs changed, I call the owner of the car and offer to change the oil while I have the car with me. The customer feels taken care of and I make some easy profit above and beyond the detail.