PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Looking for DA Product Advice for DD

HomerGuy
12-02-2013, 04:27 PM
I am looking for some help from the experts.

I have two vehicles that I maintain:
Vehicle #1 is a one month old Red Explorer.
Vehicle #2 is a one year old Silver F150. This one lives outside 24x7.

Both are daily drivers. They also see some dirt roads (F-150 in particular). I am not a fanatic, just looking to keep them looking nice.

I am a beginner and my goal so far have keeping them properly washed. I think I have been doing a good job of that so far but would like to do more to protect my finish.

I recently picked up a Griots DA from an Amazon deal. I also picked up the Black Diamond Paint Sealant, Glass Sealant, and Collinite 845 from AG's Black Friday sales. Not sure if all of these items even "fit" together as a good system, but with too much excitement and too little time to research that's what I ended up with. I'm sure some of you can relate :)

The paint on both vehicles is in good condition, and I want to slowly dip my toes into the DA pool. Although everything I have read says that DAs are almost idiot proof, I am still nervous and want to start off with something simple.

Based upon the products that I have, and my desire to start safe & simple, can you recommend products and pads to fill in the gaps?

Here is what I am thinking, let me know if this is stupid:
1. Wash / Dry / Clay
2. Some sort of light Polish applied by DA? DG 501? What pads?
3. Black Diamond Paint Sealant
4. Collinite 845?

Mike Phillips
12-02-2013, 04:43 PM
2. Some sort of light Polish applied by DA? DG 501? What pads?

Everything you listed looks good. For the above I'd recommend a very good quality medium cut to fine cut polish.

In the last year on the forum I find myself typing the blow quite often when making recommendations for an abrasive polish to remove below surface paint defects out of scratch-sensitive clearcoat paints.

Don't skimp on abrasive technology