PDA

View Full Version : Opti Coat Questions

Mortis
11-30-2013, 03:52 PM
Hey guys ! Ill be applying Opti Coat to my daily driver in a week or so and I had a few questions since Im not a pro detailer and Opti coat is a different product then what Im used to. Ive read most of the main OC threads.

The car is almost 3 years old now and has its fair share of minor scratches, paint chips etc that Ive recently touched up to the best of my ability. I dont mind if they show a bit.
Im getting the paint corrected at the 3M professional detailing place that do a good job of getting rid of defects and then Ill be applying OC by myself in my garage at home.
I have a week total for the whole thing including curing.

1] The car is going to get a little dust/dirt on it on the way back, will a wipedown with QD ONR followed by an isopropyl alcohol (what % ?) be enough before starting to apply OC ?

2] Applicator pads : Ive always found that the standard yellow foam pads suck up too much product and obviously I want to avoid that. After going through the threads I saw that people were using makeup sponges so I went out and picked up a few.
I immediately chucked the latex/rubbery type ones as they didnt have enough glide.
Im left with normal small sponge pads and sponge pads covered in a layer of very short velvety kind of material. Which would be better the regular sponge or the velvety sponge since some people are using microfibre applicators ?

3] A quick swipe of a microfiber is recommended after each section is done. Can I use a cheap glass cleaning micro for this since Ill have to chuck it after use ?

4] I have a couple of small pea sized dents on the roof that I have touched up can I put on a bigger glob of OC there to slightly even it out and protect that area ?

5] Is it safe to apply on glass such as mirrors and windows ?

6] Dust WILL settle on the car even in the garage. Is the ok or should I clean the dust off often ? How soon and how do I clean the dust ?