PDA

View Full Version : Black 2008 Volvo

bam3715
11-29-2013, 10:01 PM
I'm pretty new to detailing and have been working with a black VW Passat this summer with satisfactory results. We just picked up a 2008 Volvo with black paint. The paint is full of swirls and stains, thus today I pulled out my Flex 3401 and a 5" orange hybrid Lake County pad and started on a small test on the hood. I started with Meguiars M105 and hit it 6 times, inspected and hit it 6 more times. I then used a 5" blue hybrid LC pad with 205 and then a white hybrid LC pad with 205. It turned out okay, but took forever.

Is Volvo's paint considered "hard"?
Is there a better pad to cut this paint?

I spend 6 hours on the hood and I'm only 3/4 of the ways done!

Thanks in advance for your advice.

jankerson
11-29-2013, 11:34 PM
Yeah the 5.5" Flat Yellow Cutting Pad (Or the CYAN HT) with M105 on Speed 5 with heavy pressure should cut it down quicker.

Then go with the Orange 5.5" Flat Pad (Or Tangerine HT) and M205 after.

Or Megs MF cutting pad and M105 or M101.

Finish with Megs MF finishing pad and M205.

Mike@DedicatedPerfection
11-30-2013, 02:43 AM
Welcome to AGO.

The orange hybrid pad is the most aggressive foam pad offered from Lake Country. See post number two.
Lake Country Hybrid Aggressiveness Pad Chart - Autopia Forums - Auto Detailing & Car Care Discussion Forum (http://www.autopiaforums.com/forums/detail-institute-presented-autopia-carcare-com/39383-lake-country-hybrid-aggressiveness-pad-chart.html)

Also M105 is very strong as we all know. What was your overall technique with the compounding step? Was the pad primed?

bam3715
11-30-2013, 09:56 AM