PDA

View Full Version : New paint full detailing (dark color)

Pages : [1] 2

mikeselky85
11-03-2013, 04:34 PM
Ive recently painted my 1985 el camino with a black cherry metallic two stage paint. I recently got done buffing out the orange peel and defects. My issue is that Ive never had a car that was painted before, Its either had old paint or primer. I have read multiple threads that were posted on autogeek on proper washing and caring techniques. I don't know what I should do to get the best out of my paint, and a lot of thread discuss using wax as the final product and with fresh paint (little less then a month) I do not want to use waxes yet. So if you could recommend some products to properly wash, polish (to remove my light swirls left from buffing), and protect and care for paint that would be great.

I am a master tech and work on cars for a living and I do a lot of body and paint work as a side hobby. Ive learned all body information from my neighbor who is a professional body man. I know my way around a car, Ive just never had the experience with detailing to keep it looking good. so any reading material and products you could recommend would be great.

thanks
mike

Sfoster
11-03-2013, 04:38 PM
Congrats on your elcamino! I used to drive a '69, wish I had it back.
Use nothing but microfiber on it!

Sent from my XT907 using AG Online

hernandez.art13
11-03-2013, 04:44 PM
Hello, this is exciting (not sure why :dunno: ) lol

So you painted the car then, wet sanded and buffed it out? And you still have swirls? What tools did you use? Detailing wise.

Lets see some pictures of your work :xyxthumbs:

hernandez.art13
11-03-2013, 04:45 PM
Oh and congrats, hopefully you already accomplished the more complicated work and now you just have to worry about the Details. (Pun intended)

HateSwirls
11-03-2013, 05:18 PM