PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Needs Advice on Products...

Sue Esponte
11-01-2013, 03:29 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie here (this is my first post) but I've actually been lurking for a while. I'll apologize in advance for the long rambling post. There's a serious wealth of information on these forums. So, thanks for already answering so many of the questions I've had about various products in the past without even knowing it! :)

Anyway, I'm an amateur (hack?) detailer who, when possible, is happy to spend a full day detailing my cars. I tend to be pretty anal about how I keep them and find it therapeutic. My family, however, thinks I'm nuts and I always find that I'm pressed for time.

My typical wash scenario (for the exterior) is...

1. Wash.
2. Clay.
3. Polish (if needed).
4. Sealant (if needed).
5. Wax (carnuba).

I've used lots of different products (Zymol, P21S, Griots, Woflgang, Sonax, Meguiars, etc.) over the years but when it comes to wax the one I prefer most is Pinnacle Souveran paste. It's ease of application and removal is unparalleled in my experience and I've always been very happy with the results...oh, and the smell. :) Ease and speed are key features given time pressure -- but a good detailing requires time.

Some of my friends have been recommending that I try out some of the newer polymer based paint coating systems but I've always resisted for some reason...maybe fear of the unknown. Whatever. When I saw the recent announcement about Pinnacle Black Label the other day, however, I was very intrigued and started reading some of the different threads on it. How could anyone not be captured by the shine on that red Porsche 935?