PDA

View Full Version : Curious if I caused my own problem

Russ57
10-23-2013, 02:24 PM
Okay, total detailing newbie here.....as in the kind that never waxed his car in his life.....and I'm old:)

So I did a little reading and decided to give it a go on a metallic silver 2008 Pontiac Vibe. Washed with Rain X brand shampoo using a normal wash cloth. I have three huge oak trees in front of my house so I needed to be a little more agressive than the cleaning mit allowed. Took a couple/few hours! Washed again a few days later and that was quick and easy. Dried car, used a clay bar, rinsed, applied NXT liquid, let dry for an hour and buffed it out with terry cloth towel. I felt it came out quite nice. Clay bar went very easy yet did make a noticeable difference in how smooth it felt.

If you are still with me....now comes that bad part. Warked out to the parking garage at work on my way home yesterday....put some uniforms in the hatchback.....and noticed the entire top of the car had tons on fine scratches, in roughly straight lines, from the front to back of the roof. These look like long scratches....not lots of random little ones. Funny thing is you can't see them in norm,al sunlight. I can't see them at night with a flashlight. Seems they only show in a diffused type of light.

They may have been there all along. I may have caused them with the clay bar but the rest of the car looks fine. They look like what you'd expect from driving through the Sahara at 100 MPH. Nothing you can feel or catch a fingernail in. Heck nothing you can see under most conditions.

So what to do and how to fix it? Rather not buy a machine. Rather not work with anything so aggressive I could do real damage. Scratch X seems to be suggested as the best choice in an over the counter hand applied solution. Should I buy some and go it a go? I'd feel more comfortable if I could see the scratches under normal sunlight conditions so I could judge progress. Maybe there is a trick for that?