PDA

View Full Version : Engine detail

KS_Detailing
10-21-2013, 07:23 PM
So what do you do if the alternator is not accessible to cover?

davidc
10-21-2013, 07:41 PM
So what do you do if the alternator is not accessible to cover?

Remove the Battery cables. You would have to be sure everything is dry before reconnecting. I personally would disconnect the cables no matter what anyway.

Dave

Romans5.8
10-21-2013, 09:29 PM
+1 to above. These things CAN get wet. It's pressure that you REALLY want to avoid. So just avoid putting pressure or a stream of water on the alternator and you should be okay. I'm a newbie to detailing but I do know my way around the under-the-hood area a bit!

statusdetailing
10-21-2013, 09:41 PM
I've never had a problem with an alternator. I cover anything that looks sensitive, with plastic.

The things that really tend to be problems are sensors and around spark plugs. Don't even think about starting an engine up until you have blown the engine out with a blower and compressed air. . . and removed the plastic and foil or whatever you've used to cover important components.

After I've dried an engine out to the best of my ability, I start it up and let it run for 10-20 minutes to allow any remaining moisture to evaporate.

Pureshine
10-21-2013, 09:47 PM
I've never had a problem with an alternator. I cover anything that looks sensitive, with plastic.

The things that really tend to be problems are sensors and around spark plugs. Don't even think about starting an engine up until you have blown the engine out with a blower and compressed air. . . and removed the plastic and foil or whatever you've used to cover important components.

After I've dried an engine out to the best of my ability, I start it up and let it run for 10-20 minutes to allow any remaining moisture to evaporate.

:iagree:

KS_Detailing
10-22-2013, 02:27 PM