PDA

View Full Version : Gm factory CC 10 year Sealant?

PlayDoh
10-18-2013, 12:17 PM
I have a buddy who just bought a 2012 Camaro and I was giving him the pitch on how I can clean and protect his CC (clear coat). He told me it has "3M protection and a CC sealant warrantied for 10 years".
I'm a newb and obviously didn't have an answer for that. He's the type that believes anything, so I didn't even bother suggesting it could still benefit from a detailing and that there are still contaminates on the paint, and further sealant can only help.

This clearly sounds like the old dealership add-ons that do very little, and no where near 10 year maintenance free.

Can anyone add some insight to this product and 'protection'?

Evan.J
10-18-2013, 12:27 PM
Junk plain and simple.

You have to keep goin back getting it applied for the warranty to stay valid. They wash it and then spray it on.

Everyone here will tell you it's nothing but a waste of money.

FUNX650
10-18-2013, 12:38 PM
Can anyone add some insight to this product and 'protection'?
YES!...It does sound like Dealership add-ons.

But just stating: "3M protection and CC sealant" could imply a variety of products/services.

So instead of me guessing what this "Plan" entails:
Ask your Buddy to show you the warranty paperwork.
The 3M product(s)...and/or others...should be listed.

I bet He paid a pretty penny for it.
Monies you probably should have been paid for:
Actual Detailing-services rendered...several times over!!!

:)

Bob

zmanjohn
10-18-2013, 03:21 PM
Junk plain and simple.

You have to keep goin back getting it applied for the warranty to stay valid. They wash it and then spray it on.

Everyone here will tell you it's nothing but a waste of money.