PDA

View Full Version : Can't get rid of swirls and scratches

Pages : [1] 2

cheekyage
10-15-2013, 05:57 PM
Hi all,

I am really enjoying the forum as I am new to the detailing world.

I attempted to polish a car using a Random Orbital machine with a friend of mine following all the basic and recommended steps however I was disappointed with my results.

I achieved fantastic gloss and reflections yet I could still see some light swirls, water marks and light scratches which I thought would have been removed.

Here is a guideline of my process and products used

1. 2 Bucket Wash
2. Clay
3. Menzerna PF2500 on Orange pad
4. Menzerna SF4000 on Black pad
5. Opti-Seal Sealant

Am I perhaps missing something or doing something wrong?

Any feedback or advice would be great :)

davidg
10-15-2013, 06:03 PM
Which machine? Do you have a lake country green or white pad?

Scott@IncrediblyDetailed
10-15-2013, 06:06 PM
Start here.

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/tricks-tips-techniques/20021-definitive-how-article-removing-swirls-scratches-water-spots-using-porter-cable-7424xp-g110v2-griot-s-garage-polisher.html

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/questions-about-porter-cable-7424xp-7424-7336-griot-s-meguiar-s-dual-action-polishers/38399-da-polisher-articles-help-newbies-machine-polishing.html

Kaban
10-15-2013, 06:09 PM
Probably need something alot more aggressive than the PF,,,that doesn't have that much cut.

That or you are going too gentle and not using enough pressure.

Black's Magic
10-15-2013, 06:09 PM
Feed back please Need more info and pics could help.
What machine are you using? Which pads are you using (LC, Cobra, etc?) and what are their condition. How much product are you applying to the pads?

Hi all,

I am really enjoying the forum as I am new to the detailing world.

I attempted to polish a car using a Random Orbital machine with a friend of mine following all the basic and recommended steps however I was disappointed with my results.