PDA

View Full Version : 1996 Acura Integra

Pages : [1] 2 3

Pghpunkid
10-12-2013, 12:10 AM
So, a bit of an introduction for myself, I am a paint newbie. I know a lot of the methods (in theory) of paint and detailing with DD's, but knew better than to touch a DD myself.

So after doing some google searching on how to correct single stage oxidation, I found what appeared to be an older episode on Powerblock on how to do it, with one of the Auto Geek guys on there showing the technique off.

Using the Porter Cable 7424 and few pads and chemicals he turned a oxidized truck into perfection! I felt this needed a 'its so easy anyone can do it' approach. This is where this topic comes in!

This was my 1996 Acura Integra as of about noon Friday..

http://www.pghpunkid.com/img/IMG_1900.JPG
http://www.pghpunkid.com/img/IMG_1902.JPG
http://www.pghpunkid.com/img/IMG_1904.JPG
http://www.pghpunkid.com/img/IMG_1905.JPG
http://www.pghpunkid.com/img/IMG_1906.JPG
http://www.pghpunkid.com/img/IMG_1908.JPG

As you can see, I have not treated this reliable car as well as it has treated me. But im changing that.

Due to budget constrains (can't justify $300+ for the 7424 for my first attempt) I picked up the Harbor Freight Multispeed DA Polisher, and a few 5$ pads, just like the video showed. Same cut and polish pads (or close enough in my mind). Picked up some Meguiars (sp?) Swirl Remover and Polish, and a Mother Claybar kit. Wasn't sure on the claybar part, but the guy did it in the video! So I did it.

Clay barred the entire car after I got home with all my goodies, and started going at it. Well into the dark with little to poor light (Halogen.. I don't have any fluorescent portables :cry:) and did what I could.

After claybar..
http://pghpunkid.com/img/IMG_1913.JPG

After Swirl Remover:
http://pghpunkid.com/img/IMG_1914.JPG