PDA

View Full Version : Taking things up a notch

kdubski
10-02-2013, 05:39 PM
I'm a small time student detailer who makes most of his money off production detailing. This being said I've had my fair share of destroyed finishes (marred, swirls, and rotary holograms). I've attempted to remove some damage on few cars by request with a combination of m105/m205 and appropriate pads. With my porter cable this is not an easy task and rarely get over 85% correction on serious swirls, although many times I can get close to 95% if I have the time. That being said I notice many using the flex/rupes polishers for swirl removal. However, this being a D/A orbital, how does it differ from my 7242xp? I mean some of the work I see is just jaw dropping, how do you guys do it? Also, does the price justify the upgrade in quality/time?

Bill1234
10-02-2013, 05:46 PM
I almost sure the flex is a fixed rotation compared to the porter cable. I would stay with the porter cable and take a rotary class. Much safer idea

kdubski
10-02-2013, 05:46 PM
I realize there is a good amount of information on this forum from what I have read but not really much being specific as much, it's just comparing rotary vs DA. Thanks!

greatwhitenorth
10-02-2013, 08:18 PM
I almost sure the flex is a fixed rotation compared to the porter cable. I would stay with the porter cable and take a rotary class. Much safer idea

I disagree.
A flex will safely correct the paint to your desired level just as fast as a rotary but you will save a step because you won't be going back over your work with the PC. Get a small backing plate for the PC for tight areas

statusdetailing
10-02-2013, 09:50 PM
You can get jaw dropping results with mf pads on the 7424. It will be a little easier with a griots and even a little easier still, and smoother with a rupes.

rmagnus
10-02-2013, 11:11 PM