PDA

View Full Version : Noob product questions

drvnbysound
10-01-2013, 01:18 PM
So I'm certainly a new member and poster, but I've been doing a lot of reading and researching over the past 6 months or so. I'm a hobbyist detailer and just looking for some suggestions for personal use. I've got two vehicles that I'm planning to keep for a while...

1) 2004 Acura RSX; Vivid Blue Pearl newly painted (~45 days ago)

2) 2007 Ford Explorer; Silver

I've been wanting to get a 7424 for a while, but wasn't at the point that I really wanted to dive that deep. Since getting my car back from the paint shop I really want to take good care of it and hope that it (the car as well as the paint) lasts for a long time.

Having said that, I have been watching a number of the detailing videos - specifically those on the 7424 as well as those regarding the Pinnacle products and was hoping to get either verification or other recommendations on products (pads, polishes, etc).

I was looking at the purchase of LC pads; first for the Acura, since it's freshly painted it really doesn't any swirls yet or RIDS, but there are some paint imperfections. I've tried to some spot claying on some of the paint spots, but suspect that compound/polish may be needed to take care of them. Hoping to take the minimal approach, I was thinking of using the white LC polishing pad and some of the Pinnacle Cleansing Lotion and see what that does first.

For the Explorer, I really need to take a deeper look, but I'm almost certain that it has some swirls and probably some RIDS. So, I was going to use a orange LC pad with the Pinnacle ASR, then a white pad with Pinnacle AFP.

For both vehicles I was going to use the Pinnacle liquid souveran wax.

I figure that these may be very different in terms of paint and I know that I don't really know what to expect from either vehicle yet. Any input that you guys are able to provide would be greatly appreciated.

cleanmycorolla
10-01-2013, 02:58 PM