PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on a recent detail of a black Nissan Maxima

olenderc
09-30-2013, 10:58 AM
My friend asked me to detail his 90,000 mile black Nissan Maxima for him, and since I am still learning and need the experience, I am only charging him $150 only to cover the expense of supplies I would need. The paint was in pretty rough condition, fairly deep scratches in various places; the front bumper was a war-zone with chips everywhere and paint starting to crack, chip and peel away in certain places.

I washed his car with a mixture of CG Wash and Gloss/ONR and clayed it with a speedy prep towel.

I then got to work on the hood doing test spots until I finally settled on doing about two passes with WF Uber Compound on a 6" Meg's Microfiber Cutting Pad, followed by WG Finishing Glaze on a white 6.5" LC Flat pad. This was all being done using a 6" Griot's Garage DA.

Finally since I wasn't going to be able to finish the whole car in one shot, I was basically working panel by panel and when finished with one, I coated the paint with DP paint coating which I just recently bought to try out.

There were a few spots where I went with an additional 2 or so passes (for a total of about 4) with the Uber Compound because of heavier scratches, some of which I couldn't get out so I didn't push my luck since I didn't have a paint thickness gauge.

I was a little discouraged because I couldn't get the paint to a standard where I was completely happy but I was trying to stay realistic with what I was given. I couldn't even paint correct the front bumper because there were so many chips and cracks I was afraid I'd peel the paint right off in some spots; I recommended he might need his front bumper repainted if he wanted to.