PDA

View Full Version : What paint coating do you prefer and why?

Pages : [1] 2

dlgwarner
09-24-2013, 04:54 AM
First, I'll mention that I'm not a professional detailer, bt I've been "going to school" at AG for 7 years and apply what I've learned from everyone here to my DD with great care and results to match.

I'm planning to do a complete paint correction on our Honda Odyssey which serves mainly as our hauler and greyhound taxi, so it tends to be the most neglected car in the garage. I'd like to finish it with a paint coating rather than a sealant. It tends to be the most neglected car in the garage.

I've learned from AG that the "best" product is mainly a matter of personal preference and the situation and goal than product quality.

So, I'm interested in what you like to work with and why and would since this will be my first time using a coating (I figure I'll get my experience on the van before I coat my Audi) I appreciate and suggestions, tips and advice for my situation.

silverfox
09-24-2013, 05:02 AM
Congrats on going the coating route. Coatings make so much sense and they look great as well. Your paint will practically wash itself when rained on. Subsequent Maintenance washes become a breeze as well.

What's more important than the coating you select is the preparation steps.

Wash - iron-x - clay - polish - eraser (or DP coating prep polish) - coating.

Don't top the coating with a wax for goodness sake! Use a coating topper such as Reload if you use one at all.

My. 2 cents ...

I use CQUK but there are several great coatings.

Mike lambert
09-24-2013, 06:59 AM
We have tried them all, we sell c quartz finest, but I really like nanolex for ease of use ,price and looks.
Any of the c quartz will do you fine also.
I would really make sure you use the correct product for wipe down also.

jartx
09-24-2013, 05:44 PM