PDA

View Full Version : 1969 Firebird - Maroon

waderw24
09-23-2013, 08:29 PM
Hi folks - I'm getting ready to take a shot at polishing up a 1969 Firebird that has been repainted and wanted to see if I could get some advice.

I am a hobbyist who simply enjoys keeping my cars clean therefore I have a limited arsenal on compounds/polishes, etc. but here's my game plan.

Arsenal

PC 7424XP
LC Hydro-Tech Foam Pads (Blue, Orange, Red)
LC CCS Pads (White, Orange, Red)
Menzerna FG400
Menzerna SF4500
Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint Sealant 3.0
P21S Paintwork Cleanser
Meguiars Ultimate Sealant
Chem Guys V7

Proposed Process (Car has never been polished)

Standard Wash & Towel Dry (no two bucket since polishing)
Iron-X/Rinse
ReWash & Dry
Clay - NanoskinWash Mitt, Fine
Tape off high spots, trim, etc.
Test Spot (expecting to end up using FG400 & P21S)
Polish Car with whichever combo works best
Seal - WGDGPS 3.0 (1 coat due to time)

Questions

Since I have the Nanoskin Wash Mitt, can I combine the standard wash and clay steps using the Nanoskin or should I keep them separate?
Any suggestions on my process, recommendations. etc for working with a car of this age?

This will be my first time working with a car this old AND IT IS MY BOSS' WIFE'S CAR....so as you can imagine there is no room for error.:dblthumb2:

Thanks in advance for your help!

waderw24
09-24-2013, 11:16 AM
Anyone??

Mike Phillips
09-24-2013, 11:21 AM
QUOTE=waderw24;954681]Anyone??[/QUOTE]

Sorry I missed your post... I think I was in bed already... :D

Questions

Since I have the Nanoskin Wash Mitt, can I combine the standard wash and clay steps using the Nanoskin or should I keep them separate?

Wash and rinse car thoroughly and then use Nano Skin Wash Mitt.

You don't want to rub LOOSE DIRT over the paitn with the rubberize face of the Nanoskin Wash Mitt, this could inflict more swirls and scratches.

So,

Standard Wash & Towel Dry (no two bucket since polishing)
Iron-X/Rinse
ReWash AND RINSE THOROUGHLY