PDA

View Full Version : CGs Optical Polish Advice

ThomasonCarCare
09-23-2013, 09:55 AM
Hello fellow detailers! I am new to the polishing scene and I was wondering if there is a first step process for using these products. I will be polishing my wifes black 2009 VW Rabbit soon (for practice) and she has swirls, oxidation, and minor scratches.

I do not plan on offering services to remove RIDS so I am only interested in the three mentioned above. I have the following products:

Orange pad
Green pad
White pad
Black pad
Blue pad

V34 hybrid polish
v36 cutting polish
v32 final polish
Blacklight glaze/sealant
and every wax they carry up to "Black"

I am just looking for some advise on where to start or if I need to buy additional polishes (it can be a non CG product)

Thank you for your help!

P.S. Mike I read your thread about branding your name, it has really helped my business get off the ground. Thank you for all you do for this community!

AutoHeed
09-23-2013, 10:21 AM
welcome!

i have been using CG polishes quite often on soft, medium and hard paint. my suggestion is to do a test spot. no theory will beat practice. find Mike's article about doing a test spot. A little bit correction on the polishes line:
V32 is extreme compound
V34 is compound/polish
V36 is cutting polish
V38 is finishing polish

i will assume you have LC's pad and you will do a one step correction. so we are on the same page now.

if you are using a rotary, you might wanna start with:
- white polishing pad + V36 or V38. if that doesn't work out,
- orange cutting pad + V36

if you are using a DA, you might wanna start with:
- orange cutting pad + V34

you can always finish up with softer pad and finishing polish. CG polishes are lubricated graciously, so for rotary buffer=longer working time, for DA=work it long enough and they can be finished well enough (LSP ready) for a one step so it doesn't need second step. but you have to find your own working combo. good luck!

ThomasonCarCare